## Rule Remarks About Maharaja V5.2

• Starting Areas: (one army in each area)

Pandyas: Khandesh, Malwa

- Cholas: Bundelkhand, Gondwana
- Harappans: Baluchistan, Delhi, Gandhara, Gujarat, Kashmir, Lahore, Punjab, Rajpuntana, Sind
- Sequence of Play:
  - increase population phase
  - invasion phase
  - movement phase
  - battle phase
  - factory phase
  - arms phase
  - victory point count phase
- Movement:
  - 2 areas
    - stop in hiland
    - colonial armies (British, Dutch, French and Portuguese) 3 areas
    - no direct movement Malwa–Gondwana, Bundelkhand–Khandesh
    - Karnatak-Lanka: one turn; retreat possible
    - -2 to 1 stop in enemy area; additional may continue
    - boats: move through one sea area; colonial armies: may stop at sea
    - major invastion: move and fight twice
    - group with leader: 3 areas; no stop in hiland
    - permission to move through sea area for boadbuilding Indian nation by Colonial nations in that area
- Stacking:
  - 3 armies
  - 2 armies in hiland
  - one unlimited group in non-hiland or one group of 4 armies in hiland
  - check: end of movement phase
  - no exception: increase population; retreat
  - overpopulation (check after turn): whole people:
     2 armies for each area, not for colonial armies
  - leader removal critical for battle resolution: Alexander, Timur and Abdali removed at end of nations turn; Ashoka and Chandra removed at start of subsequent game turn; all others removed at start of nations next turn
- Battle:
  - fight against hostile factory optional
  - fight among colonial armies at sea optional (moving player decides)
  - Indian nation with boats may attack Colonial armies at sea but must retreat afterwards

- roll die for each army to determine hostile elimination:
  - $\ast\,$  Indian armies eliminated on 5 or 6  $\,$
  - \* Colonial factories on 5 or 6
  - \* Colonial armies on 6
  - \* defending army or factory in hiland on 6
  - \* Colonial armies add 1 to die roll
  - $\ast\,$  add 1 to die roll if own leader present
- partial retreat possible
- defender retreat to own area or to vacant area not adjacent to attackers area; no retreat to attackers start area
- attacker retreat to own area he came from
- Population (rules p. 7):
  - one new army for 3 areas; hiland counts  $\frac{1}{2}$
  - if possible at most 1 new army in an area
  - removals as listed:
    - \* 2 Greeks and Alexander at end of Greek turn 4
    - \* 2 Mughals and Timur at end of Mughal turn 11
    - \* 2 Afghans and Abdali at end of Afghan turn 15
    - \* 6 Mauryans and Ashoka at beginning of turn 5
    - \* 8 Guptas and Chandra at beginning of turn 8
    - $\ast~8$  Guptas at beginning of turn 9
  - increase restrictions as listed:
    - $\ast\,$  no increase for Mauryans during turn 5  $\,$
    - $\ast\,$  no increase for Guptas after turn 7
    - $\ast\,$  no increase for Cholas after turn 9  $\,$
    - \* Muslims only count areas in South India from turn 12 onwards
    - \* Mughals only count areas in South India during turns 15 and 16
  - Chola and Maratha reinforcements in vacant South Indian area if necessary (else: do not appear)
  - british reinforcements: new armies in Indian Ocean
- Submission:
  - only allowed, if listed:
    - \* Sinhalese if 1 area in Ceylon
    - \* Sikhs if 1 area in North India
    - \* Rajputs if 2 or fewer areas in North India
    - \* Pandyas, Marathas and Muslims if 2 or fewer areas in South India
    - \* Mughals from turn 11 onwards if 2 or fewer areas in North India or 1 area in South India (consider separately!)
  - lasts one turn; repeated submission possible
  - at any time during movement or battle
  - no movement or battle restriction for submitter

- attacker must retreat at once
- attacker must accept submission
- count submitted area towards Raj points
- submission during major invasion: may move through submitters area
- Alliance:
  - declare at any time
  - submission to British causes alliance
  - allies must retreat immediately
  - no battle among allies
  - at declaration of alliance immediately loose one army from game board *or* population marker (i.
    e. no further increase of population); move it to British alliance box
  - British armies may move through allied areas
  - British may build factories in eligible allied areas
- Factories:
  - factories only in listed coastal areas: Andhra, Bengal, Bijapur, Golconda, Gujarat, Karnatak, Kerala, Lanka, Maharashtra, Malabar, Orissa, Sind
  - no factory in: Assam, Baluchistan, Simhala
  - build up to 2 in factory phase
  - may remove 1 in factory phase
  - factory area must belong to Colonial nation or to friendly nation touching at least one Colonial sea area
  - permission to build factory by diplomacy or force
  - factory may co-exist with armies of any nation
  - factory as immovable army; first destroy armies
- Arms:
  - assign and/ or withdraw in arms phase
  - nation shares area with Colonial factory and at least one Colonial army on land area (12.2 p. 8)
  - acts as leader (together with normal leader: add 2 to die roll during battle)
  - enters play in population phase
  - each colonial nation has one arms marker
- Raj:
  - for Mauryans/ Guptas, Muslims, Mughals, British
  - at end of their players turn
  - 9 areas Raja (1VP), 18 areas Maharaja (2VP), 27 areas Maharajadhiraja (3VP), 36 areas Chakravattin (4VP)
  - occupied and submitted areas
  - British: occupied by army or factory (no conflict!), allied areas, vacant areas
  - count conflict for area: neither may count
- Strategy:
  - attention on indigenous invasions:
    - \* turn 4: 3 Sinhaleses in Lanka
    - \* turn 5: 6 Marathas in Maharashtra
    - $\ast\,$ turn 13: 4 Sikhs in Lahore
  - mighty British

- 3 Player Short Game:
  - $-\,$  begins with turn 9
  - $-\,$  Guptas do not remove armies at start of turn 9  $\,$
  - Starting Areas: (one army in each area)

Pandyas: Bijapur, Kerala, Malabar, MysoreMarathas: Berar, Gondwana, Khandesh, Maharashtra

Cholas: Andhra, Bidar, Golconda, Karnatak

- Sinhalese: Lanka, Simhala
- **Rajputs:** Delhi, Gujarat, Lahore, Malwa, Punjab, Rajpuntana
- Guptas: Agra, Bengal, Bihar, Bundelkhand, Jaunpur, Ladakh, Magadha, Nepal, Orissa, Oudh

Muslims: Baluchistan, Sind